This is the "Home" page of the "Database Trials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook University Libraries Stony Brook University Libraries Stony Brook University Health Sciences Library

Database Trials  

Links and descriptions of research databases and collections available for trial use.
Last Updated: Feb 21, 2012 URL: http://sunysb.libguides.com/database-trials Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Feedback Box

We would love to know what you think of the trial databases.  In your response, please indicate the name of the database and your comments.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Please provide comments to help improve this page:


Your Email:


Trial Databases

Throughout the year University Libraries offers trial access to a number of research databases and collections.  Access our trial databases and collections below.  When available, trial period is indicated in the description.  Feel free to use the 'rate this item' feature via the five stars next to each title link.  Your Feedback is appreciated!

Feedback: Use the Feedback box on the left, or email Library eResources, with feedback on any of the database trials (in the body of your email please note the database title).

  • American Periodicals Series (APS) Online  
    Rating
    American Periodicals Series Online contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. TRIAL RUNS THROUGH MARCH 5, 2012.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers  
    Rating
    Primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life as written in the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, and The Philadelphia Tribune. TRIAL RUNS THROUGH MARCH 5, 2012.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)  
    Rating
    The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Get first-hand accounts of one of the most turbulent periods in American history: post-Civil War reconstruction. TRIAL RUNS THROUGH MARCH 5, 2012.
  • Oxford Handbooks Online  
    Rating
    The complete texts of the prestigious Oxford Handbooks in Business and Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. 3,400+ in-depth essays by the world's leading scholars. Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve. TRIAL RUNS THROUGH FEB 24, 2012.
  • 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers  
      
      
    Rating
    Digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Rev. Charles Burney, this unique collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library. TRIAL RUNS THROUGH MARCH 12, 2012.
  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers  
    Rating
    Comprehensive collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain. The archive includes 70 papers originating in England, Scotland and Ireland, carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century. The collection is made up of daily and weekly publications and reflects Britain's growing role as a superpower in the 19th century world. TRIAL RUNS THROUGH MARCH 12, 2012.
  • Making of the Modern World (1450-1914)  
      
      
    Rating
    Collection of 66,000 books and primary sources, including reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, that explore the dynamics of Western trade and wealth that shaped the world from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Covers social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization, philosophy, law, gender studies, slavery, colonization, Atlantic world and Latin American/Caribbean studies. TRIAL RUNS THROUGH MARCH 12, 2012.
  • Sabin Americana: 1500-1926  
    Rating
    Online collection of over 29,000 books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Includes original accounts of discovery & exploration, pioneering & westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War, Native Americans, slavery & abolition, and religious history. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean. TRIAL RUNS THROUGH MARCH 12, 2012.
 

Got Trials?

Faculty, Staff & Students

If you are a SBU faculty, staff or student and you would like to recommend a database or digital collection for a trial, contact your subject specialist or email Library eResources.

Vendors

If you are a vendor or publisher and you would like to offer a database or digital collection trial, please contact Nathan Baum, Associate Director for Collection Strategy and Management, 631.632.9959.  You may also contact the subject specialist(s) relevant to the database/ collection.

 

Ask A Librarian

 

If no one responds, please leave your email address so we can contact you as soon as possible. You can also call or email us. 

Copyright © 2012 Stony Brook University Libraries
Phone: 631.632.7100 | Email: Library Webmaster
Stony Brook University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip