Don't Let This Be You!

This guide can help.
Off-Campus Access
Library databases and other resources are available both on and off-campus. When accessing resources from off-campus, simply enter your NetID and password (the same ID and password you use for Blackboard) when prompted to authenticate.
For more information check here.
Really Want to Cite Wikipedia?
Try Britannica Online! It's also an online encyclopedia but it's not a wiki so there is less risk of incorrect information.
Once you find your topic, check the bottom of the page for citation information.
- Britannica Online Academic EditionUpdated regularly. Fulltext. Includes the Encyclopaedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Notable Quotations, and Gateway to the Classics, which provides PDF versions of selected classic texts.
Where To Start?
The purpose of this guide is to help new students find their way around the library and locate appropriate material for doing college level research.
Use the tabs above or click on the links below to get more information:
- Where Can I Find...? Where to look for the type of information you need. Start here if you are lost.
- Library Hours - Find out when the library is open.
- Find Articles - A list of places to look for articles for class assignments.
- Find Books - Find print and eBooks related to your topic. Info on renting textbooks.
- Course Reserves - Instructors may place materials for supplemental readings on Course Reserves. This material is usually on loan for a short duration due to its high demand. Material will be located at the appropriate library (see below) and available at the Reserves desk. The Reserve desk for the main library is located on the third floor at the entrace to the Main Stacks. Bring your ID card; it is also your library card and you will need it to check out course reserves. Sometimes, reserves are available online through Blackboard course web pages and may be accessed 24/7.
- Workshops and Tours - Can't find journal articles in the library catalog? Repeatedly losing points on assignments because your citations are wrong? The library offers FREE workshops and tours to help you do the best you can in your classes.
- Finding a Computer -Can't find a computer in the Main Library SINC Site? Check here to see where computers are available or
- Printing and Photocopying - Get information on printing quotas and photocopying costs.
- SBU Library Research Guide - Did your instructor request articles from peer-reviewed journals? No idea what that means or how to find one? Can't tell the difference between a primary and secondary source? Never created a References or Works Cited list? Not clear on how to find articles? Take our self-paced, online tutorial to get up to speed quickly. Take 10 minutes to focus on one problem area or go through the entire tutorial in about an hour.
- Citation/Plagiarism - Find out about tools and sites that offer help with handling citation.
- Library Locations - Where different libraries are located on campus and a map of the campus.
- Circulation Information - How much material you can check out, how to check out material, how to renew material online, etc.
- Video Collection - Need a break from all the reading you've been doing? Perhaps a romantic comedy or maybe a zombie apocalypse is what you need to take the edge off. We have a pretty good collection of DVDs and videos located on the 3rd floor in the Main Stacks which can be checked out for 7 days.
- Wireless Access (WiFi) - Got a laptop? Wireless access is available in most areas of the library. Find out more about wireless access availability and AirNet.
New & Improved Library Website
Check out the new & improved library website @ http://library.stonybrook.edu/.
From the library homepage you can find:
- library hours
- articles online in library databases
- books in the library catalogs
- research guides on various subjects
- library news

Ask A Librarian
Still have questions?
Get help now!
Get Help On The Go!
Use your Smartphone, iPhone, or iPad to scan the QR code.

More information and a list of scanner applications.
Other Information about SBU
- Students Welcome Center

- Academic Judiciary

- The Writing Center
Get help with your writing.




Loading...
